Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
Vision for the Consortium

A variety of distance learning programs have evolved and are currently evolving across Schools at Tufts University. The Tufts Distance Learning Consortium has been envisioned as a way for Tufts colleagues engaged in shaping, leading, and supporting these distance learning programs to meet, to share ideas and resources, and to confer about common goals and challenges. The Consortium meets periodically throughout the year, as desired by participants, and this collaboration space supports virtual sharing of information and resources year-round.

Participants

Name

Program or School

Email

Ralph Aarons

Tufts University School of Medicine

ralph.aarons@tufts.edu

Susan Albright

TUSK

susan.albright@tufts.edu

Lynne Ausman

Friedman School of Nutrition

lynne.ausman@tufts.edu

Mark Bailey

TUSK

m.bailey@tufts.edu

Sheryl Barnes

UIT Educational and Scholarly Technology Services

sheryl.barnes@tufts.edu

Patrick Connell

Friedman School of Nutrition

patrick.connell@tufts.edu

Phil Gay (co-chair, 2012-2014)

Education, A&S

philip.gay@tufts.edu

Richard Glickman-Simon

Medical School

richard.glickman-simon@tufts.edu

Dan Hurwit

GMAP, Fletcher School

Daniel.Hurwit@tufts.edu

Mary Beth Kadlec

Occupational Therapy, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

mary_beth.kadlec@tufts.edu

Heather McMorrow

Friedman School of Nutrition

heather.mcmorrow@tufts.edu

Nicole Sanderson

GMAP, Fletcher School

todd.mcneil@tufts.edu

Dara Mehta

Dental Distance Education

dara.mehta@tufts.edu

Noshir Mehta

Dental Distance Education

noshir.mehta@tufts.edu

Debby Nutter

GMAP, Fletcher School

deborah.nutter@tufts.edu

Lori Lyn Price

Tufts Medical Center

lprice1@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Anil Saigal

Gordon Institute, Engineering

anil.saigal@tufts.edu

Christopher Schmidt

Clinical Research Graduate Program at Tufts Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Scienceshttp://uit.tufts.edu/at/

cschmid@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Rebecca Sholes (co-chair, 2012-2013)

UIT Educational and Scholarly Technology Services

rebecca.sholes@tufts.edu

Melanie St.James, co-chair, 2009-2011

UIT Educational and Scholarly Technology Services

melanie.stjames@tufts.edu

Grace Talusan

English Department

grace.talusan@tufts.edu

Peter Van Tilborg

Purchasing

peter.vantilborg@tufts.edu

Mary Viola

Gordon Institute, Engineering

mary.viola@tufts.edu

Angie Warner

Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine

angie.warner@tufts.edu

Michelle Wartak

Tufts Clinical and Translational Science Institute

mwartak@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Venus Watson

Tufts Clinical and Translational Science Institute

vwatson1@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Ewa L. Winston

Gordon Institute, Engineering

ewa.winston@tufts.edu

Haejung Chung

TTS Educational and Scholarly Technology Services

haejung.chung@tufts.edu

Next Tufts Distance Learning Consortium Meeting

A schedule for the 2013 - 2014 academic year will be posted in early September. The current co-chairs are, Phil Gay, philip.gay@tufts.edu, and Zora Rizzi, zora.rizzi@tufts.edu.

Primary location:

Medford, CELT Conference Room (108 Bromfield Rd. Map)

Connect Remotely:
Adobe Connect  https://webconf.uit.tufts.edu/tdlc2012/

Conference Phone Number: 800-501-8979
7-Digit Access Code: 6273380


Past DL Consortium Meetings Archives


Upcoming Distance Learning Events


*Doodle Scheduler *www.doodle.com

Resource Sharing

Distance Learning Service Model Design Committee Report - "Strategic Planning and Support of Distance Learning Programs"

Tufts Distance Learning Resources
... a space for collaboration and exchange of ideas and resources...
Topics of Common Interest
Video and Webconferencing Solutions
TurnitIn and Plagiarism Tools
RAK Degree Proposal Document - This is the final version of the Friedman School's hybrid degree program proposal which was recently approved by the Trustees. NOTE: Budget information has been removed from this version.

TDLC Elist

Tufts Distance Learning Consortium Elist
Our elist is configured as a "private group" list, so any participant in the Tufts Distance Learning Consortium can send a message to the group and view the archives via the Tufts Elist service.

What's Current in Distance Learning?
What's New in Distance Learning?

New articles in Resources:

Blended Learning: A Report on the EDUCAUSE ELI Session

On September 15 and 16, 2010, the ELI teaching and learning community gathered for an online focus session on blended learning. This white paper is a synthesis of the key ideas, themes, and concepts that emerged from those sessions. This white paper also includes links to supporting focus session materials, recordings, and resources. It represents a harvesting of the key elements that we, as a teaching and learning community, need to keep in mind as we work to refine the blended instructional delivery model in higher education.

Face-to-face vs. Real-time Clinical Education: No Significant Difference (Electronic Journal of E-Learning)

The main objective of this pilot research project was to determine whether the use of an internet broadband link to stream physiotherapy clinical education workshop proceedings in "real-time" is of equivalent educational value as the traditional face-to-face experience.

The Reluctant Online Professor
"Most faculty in higher education tend to teach the way they were taught---I know this is true for me....So I started the experience with great reluctance and trepidation. Much to my surprise, I finished it jubilantly. It turned out to be one of the best classes I have ever taught."

February/March issue of Innovate Online

This special issue offers a range of studies that contribute to an evidence-based framework to sustain further innovation in online teaching and learning. You will need a free account to access the articles.

  • No labels